20 FOODS YOU THOUGHT WERE VEGAN BUT AREN’T!


– Who knew that you
had to look for gelatin in things like peanuts
and dairy-free creamer? Hey guys, it’s Candace The Edgy Veg and welcome back to my channel. If you’re new here, hi, nice to meet you. Hit that subscribe button
so you can see this face twice a week at four p.m.
Tuesdays and Thursdays. Today I wanted to talk to you guys about the 20 foods that
you thought were vegan, but they’re not. There’s a lot of
information out there now, but when I went vegan I
had a really hard time with a lot of stuff because I just assumed
certain things were vegan and they were not. So I thought that this would be a fun list for you guys to have to
reference and come back to and some of these were
pretty shocking to me as well especially when I found out about them through my vegan journey, but some things I didn’t even know about in my search. We’re gonna focus on food today, but let me know in the
comment section below if you want another list of items that you thought were vegan but aren’t like more like household
things, lifestyle stuff. Let’s jump right into it. What’s the first one that I said here? All right, the first food
that you probably thought was vegan but it’s not. A lot of foods labeled dairy-free. So, there are some great
dairy-free options out there for cheeses and milks
that are actually vegan, but there are some that are not. So, have you like ever,
there’s one brand in particular that I feel like every new vegan has gone out and bought and then was like this is the best vegan cheese ever. It melts, it stretches, it pulls apart, and then you start reading the ingredients and it’s like, contains rennet. Or it contains casein,
technically it’s not dairy but it is an animal byproduct. So a lot of dairy-free things
contain animal additives and byproducts, things like rennet, things like casein and more. Number two is honey. A lot of people, even
people that have been vegan for a long time, like let’s
say a year, two years, are not always aware or often forget that honey is not vegan. So honey is a byproduct of bees. So a lot of bees are killed
in the honey-making process and lot of the times they kill the queen so that the other bees work in overdrive to produce more money. They also take the
honey away from the bees which is their source of food and the honeycombs which is their home. So technically, not vegan. Worcestershire sauce,
it contains anchovies. I know, I forgot this. When I first went vegan,
over and over again, I love Caesars and I
would forget that that, and Clamato, was vegan, now I don’t, obviously, it’s been like
nine years, over that. You can buy, really great vegan options for Worcestershire, Worcestershire,
Worcestershire sauce, like Wizard’s, that’s the
brand that I like to use. It’s delicious, it works the same way that you can use regular Worcestershire. Actually it’s really good
for helping you infuse like a nice umami flavor
into any vegan cooking that you’re making, so. Marshmallows, I know, what could possibly be not-vegan in puffed sugar? Well, gelatin. So a lot of marshmallows
do contain gelatin, most conventional
marshmallows contain gelatin but here’s a little tip for you. There’s vegan marshmallows, they’re called Dandies, and
they’re freakin’ delicious and they’re almost available
in most grocery stores, like bigger chains anyway,
and they’re so much better than normal marshmallows, they’re so good. This one I actually did not know until you guys told me when I did my ten more things that are eco-friendly. Altoids, there’s gelatin in Altoids. I had no idea, I had
been consuming Altoids for so long, I didn’t know that there was gelatin in mints. This one gets brought up a lot. It is some white sugar. So a lot of processed white sugar actually contains bone char. It’s like like ground up animal bones and they use that to refine the sugar to make it white. And lot of companies don’t do that, they use other, more
natural, not even natural, just vegan-friendly alternatives
like granular carbine. So a lot of companies do you use that now but there still are some sugar companies that are using bone char. You can just look up the list online. Red Path is one that does not so it is vegan-friendly. I mean it is difficult to
tell in packaged products where sugar is used. If you really, really, want you know you can always email or
call their customer service and they’ll have to tell you. But it is something to look out for when you are buying
kind of packaged things. This one is always a
shocker to a lot of people. Some alcohol, so some beers, some wines, some spirits are not vegan because they are refined using animal byproducts. The most common are diatomaceous earth which is like ground up
bones and fossils and things. So isinglass which is fish
bladder and also crustaceans will be used to refine the alcohol and to get it to be more
clear, like to clarify it. If you wanna find out
if your favorite alcohol is vegan-friendly or not,
there is a great website called barnivore.com, you can just type in the alcohol and they’ll tell you if it’s vegan-friendly or not. They have emailed and called all of the customer service lines and asked them. So, it’s a really great
resource if you wanna find out if what you’re drinking is vegan or not. Unfortunately for me because
I’m a huge candy addict, a lot of gummy candies are not vegan because they contain, noticing
a trend here, gelatin. So there’s a lot of really great candies that are out there that are vegan. There’s a lot of lists out
there like peta does one where it’s like accidentally
vegan candies and snacks. I love Swedish Fish and
Twizzlers and that sort of thing, those are vegan-friendly. And that parlays into
the next one, red dyes. There’s a lot of red dye out there that is not vegan because they use a thing called cochineal. Crushed-up beetles to get red dye so you have to look up the red dye in the food that you’re
buying to make sure that is is vegan-friendly. So a lot of seasoned and
barbecue like flavor chips and snacks actually
contain animal additives. So a lot of the times they’ll contain animal fats and spices made
from animal byproducts. So that’s something to
look out for as well but again a lot of them are vegan, you just have to read your ingredients. You know the like weird,
non-dairy creamer, like the powdered stuff? It may be non-dairy,
but again, it contains animal byproducts like rennet and casein. Something that always blew my mind is that many kind of commercial vegetable soups actually use beef or chicken broth as the base and not a vegetable broth. So again, you have to
read your ingredients. This is a common trend
for a lot of things, read your ingredients
if you are super strict like a lot of us are. Another thing that has no
business having animal byproducts in it is a lot of brands of orange juice. So a lot of fortified orange juices actually contain fish oil or lanolin as a source of vitamin D and omegas. So if you do buy an orange
juice, a commercial orange juice that does say that it’s
fortified or contains vitamin C or vitamin D, definitely read the ingredients for
that to see what source the vitamin D is coming from. A lot of vitamins and supplements actually are not vegan because they contain an
animal-derived like capsule. So you can get vegetarian-friendly and they will say
vegetarian or vegan-friendly capsules on it and then it’ll be a plant-derived option but a lot of them are made using gelatin. Chewing gum, a lot of chewing gum is made with animal-derived glycerine. So there’s a lot of really
great vegan options out there that you can buy that
are now readily available in most corner stores
and most supermarkets. So it’s actually one
that’s real easy to find an alternative for. So a lot of colas and like fizzy pop sodas are not vegan and this
is because they also contain dyes that use animal byproducts. Coca Cola is actually
completely vegan-friendly, believe it or not, but sometimes, some of the orange-flavored
drinks or the like, more like fruity ones
that have a lot of dye are animal derived. Refried beans, a lot of them contain lard, so read your ingredients. Vegetable-flavored ramen,
there are so many ramen brands, there are so many ramen brands and the vegetable flavor actually contains animal byproducts so they use, the actual flavor packet itself, a lot of the time will use like animal fat to get that nice flavor. Definitely look up A, your ingredients but there are a lot of really
nice vegan options out there. This is really the same
for any instant soup. You definitely have to
read your ingredients and do your research
before going to the store and just picking up any one,
even the vegetable flavors. Margarine, so unless you’re buying like vegan-specific Becel or
Earth Island Buttery Spread or Melt or something like that. A lot of the commercial margarines can contain whey and traces of dairy. And also gelatin, sneaky,
sneaky, like (bleep) gets into almost anything. And last but not least, another one that has no business having
animal products on it, is packaged peanuts. Actually a lot of brands
when they’re using those like roasted packaged peanuts actually coat the peanuts in gelatin and animal byproducts to
get that extra salty flavor. So you definitely, Planters
is one specifically, to stay away from, and
a couple others ones But definitely read your ingredients and take a look to see
if it contains gelatin. Who knew that you had to look for gelatin in things like peanuts
and dairy-free creamer. So the moral of this story
is always read your labels. I just get into my routine,
I’ve been vegan for so long and some days I’m like
yeah, and get this and this and this and I get home
and I’m like ah, shit. I didn’t read the ingredients
and I just assumed. It doesn’t happen a lot anymore but it happens from time to time so definitely always read your labels. Not to say that being vegan is really hard because it really is not that difficult, assuming that you live in an urban sector and not in a food desert and
all the other disclaimers for why people say that
vegan isn’t as easy, but. It doesn’t have to be
I’m not trying to say that being vegan is super difficult, I’m just saying, do read your ingredients, things are changing and
a lot of food companies are noticing the demand
for animal-free products so more things are coming up and it’s getting a lot easier every day. But definitely read your labels,
educate your fellow vegans and yeah, let me know if you guys want this type of video for other items that you thought were vegan. Like more lifestyle
stuff, household products, that sort of thing that
you thought were vegan and aren’t, leave me a comment
in the comment section below, letting me know that that’s what you want. If you like these kind of sit
down, let’s talk bout it topic and educate each other videos, give this video a big thumbs
up and if you’re new here hit that subscribe
button, I make new videos every Tuesday and Thursday at four o’clock and I will see you next time, bye.